read alike bookA read-alike is a book (or series) that is similar to something you have already read — and already like! Read-alike books make it easy to keep kids reading and stretch in incremental steps. The formula for asking about a Read-Alike is straightforward:

We liked [insert author, title, character, series name], do you
have an idea on something else we might like?

Some online bookseller’s sites offer a list of  “related titles” or “If you liked …” when you have searched a book. That is a resource, too. Search the title of the book you’ve read and liked, and see what recommendations pop up.

Most read-alike lists are geared toward independent readers, though you can occasionally find a list for easy readers. If you are looking for read-alikes that aren’t listed here, scroll down to the bottom of this page for resources that may be able to help you.

We also love the “If You Like” page on the Hennepin County Public Library site. You find the read-alike by picking the genre first.

See also Book Lists by Audience Age and Book Lists by Theme.

 

Ages 0 - 4



Ages 5 - 8

Beyond Shel Silverstein: Silly Poetry for Kids by Kate Hillyer @ From the Mixed Up Files of Middle Grade Authors
If You Liked Junie B. Jones by Barbara Park by Ames Public Library @ Ames Public Library


Ages 6 - 9

Beyond Shel Silverstein: Silly Poetry for Kids by Kate Hillyer @ From the Mixed Up Files of Middle Grade Authors
If You Liked Captain Underpants by Dav Pilkey by Contra Costa Public Library @ Contra Costa Public Library
If You Liked Junie B. Jones by Barbara Park by Ames Public Library @ Ames Public Library
If You Liked Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder by Medway Children's Library @ Medway Children's Library
If You Liked Wonder Woman by DC Comics by Hennepin County Public Library @ Hennepin County Public Library


Ages 8 - 12

Beyond Shel Silverstein: Silly Poetry for Kids by Kate Hillyer @ From the Mixed Up Files of Middle Grade Authors
Books Like Anne of Green Gables by Erica @ What Do We Do All Day
Books for Kids who Like Beverly Cleary by Beverly Cleary @ What Do We Do All Day
Books for Readers who Like Frindle by Andrew Clements by Nancy Keane @ Nancy Keane's Children's Literature Web Page
If You Liked A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket by St. Thomas Public Library @ St. Thomas Public Library
If You Liked Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder by Medway Children's Library @ Medway Children's Library
If You Liked The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot by Jefferson Madison Regional Library @ Jefferson Madison Regional Library
If You Liked Time Warp Trio by Jon Scieszka by Nancy Keane @ ATN Reading Lists
If You Liked Wonder Woman by DC Comics by Hennepin County Public Library @ Hennepin County Public Library
If You Liked the Hardy Boys by Nancy Keane by unknown @ Nancy Keane's Children's Literature
Lock it, Lick it, Click It; Books in Diaries, Letters & Email: 25 Books told in Epistolary Fashion by Young Adult Library Services Association @ American Library Association
Mermaid Fiction and Read Alikes for The Siren by Kiera Cass by Harris County Public Library @ Harris County Public Library


Ages 13 & Up

12 Books to Read If You Loved ‘The Hate U Give’ by FIDAN CHEIKOSMAN @ Elle Magazine
8 New Jane Austen-Inspired YA Books by Dena McMurdie @ Brightly
Books Like Anne of Green Gables by Erica @ What Do We Do All Day
Books Similar to Westing Game by Goodreads @ Goodreads
Books for Readers Who Liked Holes by Louis Sachar by Nancy Keane @ Nancy Keane's Children's Literature Web Page
Books for Readers who Liked The Leavers by Lisa Ko by Hennepin County Public Library @ Hennepin County Public Library
If You Like John Green Books by Goodreads @ Goodreads.com
If You Liked A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket by St. Thomas Public Library @ St. Thomas Public Library
If You Liked The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin by Linda Nesbitt @ Central Rappahannock Regional Library
Lock it, Lick it, Click It; Books in Diaries, Letters & Email: 25 Books told in Epistolary Fashion by Young Adult Library Services Association @ American Library Association
Mermaid Fiction and Read Alikes for The Siren by Kiera Cass by Harris County Public Library @ Harris County Public Library
Vampire Reads for those who love Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer @ American Library Association, Young Adult Services


Elementary Readers If you liked …

Captain Underpants Read-alikes… Charles County Public Library website

Hardy Boys Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone

Junie B. Jones Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone

Little  House on the Prairie Read-alikes… Charles County Public Library website

Magic Treehouse Read-alikes… Charles County Public Library website

Roahl Dahl Books Erica @ What Do We Do All Day

Winnie the Pooh @ New York Public Library

Middle Grade If you liked …

Books by Beverly Cleary by Erica @ What Do We Do All Day

Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Frindle Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone

Holes Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone

Lemony Snicket Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone

Lock it, Lick it, Click it: Diaries, Letters and Email Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone

Maniac Magee Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone

The Outsiders Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone

Percy Jackson Erica @ What Do We Do All Day

(more) Percy Jackson Rebecca @ A Book Long Enough

The Princess Diaries Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone

Stargirl Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern The Reading Zone

Time Warp Trio Read-alikes… Charles County Public Library website

Vampire Reads- If You Love Twilight! Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone

Twilight Read-Alikes for Younger Readers School Library Journal

Young Adult If you liked …

Divergent Tom Burns @ Read Brightly

Into Thin Air Read-alikes (Adventure stories) Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone

Mockingjay Alicia @ LibrarYAn

More Read-Alike Resources

Hennepin County Library website tools, including lists and book/author searches

New Jersey State Library Youth Services website lists

What Should I Read Next website tool for book/author searches