Flying Ships, Pirates, and Revenge? Oh my!

Summary:

Delilah Dirk isn’t your typical girl. She’s a daring woman who has traveled the world far and wide ... until she is captured by the Turkish Army in Constantinople (1800s). In his interrogations, Lieutenant Erdemogul Selim learns about her boisterous personality, elite background, and extraordinary combat skills. He is trying to impress her abilities on his senior officers, but instead is sent to be executed! In the nick of time, Delilah breaks out of prison saves Selim from his certain death. Except Selim wasn't expecting to be saved and finds himself aboard Delilah's flying boat The ever-polite and kind Selim decides to tag along to repay Delilah for saving his life. Together, they are headed for a wild adventure: Delilah wants to exact revenge on a pirate who had wronged her. At times Selim gets in the way, but his delightful tea and this unlikely friendship take readers on the journey of a lifetime. 


BTSYA / Teen Reader (17):
Tony Cliff’s artistry is burst from the page! Vivid scenes give readers a glimpse of 1800s Turkey and a chance to become more interested in the country’s history. The multitude of dynamic and free flowing scenes also pack a punch! The characters have very animated movement and expressions that made for a richly dramatic reading experience.

Having a bold character like Delilah is a breath of fresh air from the typical powerlessness of female characters. I’m sure many readers will be drawn to her assertive personality and adventurous attitude, as well as her unlikely friendship with ever-so-polite and selfless Selim. Readers need to know that there is violence, and "diplomacy" is not part of the story. Some readers may consider Delilah’s dress a tad bit revealing.

I may have enjoyed this graphic novel more had there been more depth to the plot. Even so, I recommend Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant for anyone 11 years or older. Fans of Indiana Jones and Tintin - or anyone looking for an action-packed graphic novel - will love this as a gift.


Reader Enjoyment Factors:

Readers will immediately be captivated by the illustrations and swept away by this action-packed story. If you love a strong, bold female character (or steampunk, or adventure) this is the graphic novel for you.

Content Awareness Factors:

Violence is part of the plot, with intense combat, injuries, and explosions. Some readers may believe that Delilah's wardrobe is too revealing or reinforces a "sexist" view.


Type of Book:
This is the first book in a steampunk graphic novel series.
Educational Themes:

This is an adventure story to enjoy for fun. It takes place in 800s' Constantinople, and may entice readers to learn more about Mediterranean history, Turkey, piracy, and different forms of government.

Reading Level:
3.1
Recommended Age To Read By Yourself:
11 and Up
Recommended Age To Read Together:
11 and Up
Age of child:
Teen STAR Review Team, Be the Star You Are!™ . Reviewer age: 17
Purchase Recommendation:
Borrow, for sure.

Title Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant
About

Delilah Dirk, Book 1

Author Tony Cliff
Publisher First Second Books © 2013
Illustrators Tony Cliff
ISBN 9781596438132
Material Paperback
Cost $17.99
Genres Adventure, Fantasy, History, Comics | Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, 1800s
Cybils

You May Also Like...

Check out these books you may also like

BOOK REVIEW

Author
Geraldine McCaughrean
ISBN
9780061836657

BOOK REVIEW

Author
Faith Erin Hicks
Publisher
Square Fish Books, Imprint Macmillan Children's Publishing Group © 2015
ISBN
9781250068163
be the star you are Cybils

BOOK REVIEW

Author
Caroline Carlson
Publisher
Harper, Imprint HarperCollins Publishers © 2014
ISBN
9780062194367

BOOK REVIEW

Author
Adrienne Kress
Publisher
Weinstein Books © 2007
ISBN
9781602860056
be the star you are

BOOK REVIEW

Author
Adrienne Kress
Publisher
Weinstein Books © 2009
ISBN
9781602860230

RECOMMENDED BOOK

Author Prudence Shen
Publisher First Second Books © 2013
ISBN 9781596436596

BOOK REVIEW

Author
Faith Erin Hicks
Publisher
First Second Books © 2016
ISBN
9781626721562
Cybils

RECOMMENDED BOOK

Author Noelle Stevenson, Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis
Publisher BOOM! Box © 2013
ISBN 9781608866878