Paddington In The Garden


Paddington knew he was a very special bear, indeed, when Mr. Brown gave him his own garden plot. Jonathan and Judy knew what to do right away. Paddington didn't have any ideas, so he set out to find some. What should his garden grow? 

Parent Perspective:
Timeless! Paddington Bear adventures are sweet and fun. Paddington blends into the world with the curiosity and innocence that is both refreshing and timeless. The story has its usual mishaps that always have you making lemonade out of lemons. The pages are denser than some picture books, but the illustrations expertly guide readers and keep them studying while you read.

Reader Enjoyment Factors:

Bright, engaging illustrations add to a fun story sure to encourage young readers to go play in the dirt!

Content Awareness Factors:

None, really. The vocabulary is true to Bond's British roots, and young listeners may not understand what marmalade, tuppence, or pence are.

Type of Book:
This is an illustrated story featuring Paddington, the iconic bear of children's books.
Educational Themes:

The story opens with Paddington Bear writing a list of things he loves about life with the Browns. You can use that as a prompt for readers to think about their own blessings. There is enough detail that you can use the book to plan out what you might need for building your own garden.

Reading Level:
Recommended Age To Read By Yourself:
10 and Up
Recommended Age To Read Together:
4 to 8
Purchase Recommendation:
Borrow, at least. This is a story for all year round, but would be especially nice for those interested in gardening with kids.

Title Paddington in the Garden
Author Michael Bond
Publisher HarperCollins © 2015
Illustrators R. W. Alley
ISBN 9780062318442
Material Hard Cover
Cost $17.99
Reminder: Cover images, and links are affiliate links. The Reading Tub can earn income via purchases made via these links. 100% of any income goes directly to our literacy mission.
Other Reviews:

You May Also Like...

Check out these books you may also like


Kevin Henkes


Dawn Jeffers
Raven Tree Press © 2006


Kit Eakle