A Pride and Prejudice Remix

Summary:

Zuri Benitez calls the Bronx home. She has lived there, with her big family, for her whole life. There is nowhere else she’d rather be. She’s proud of all the loud block parties, the shouting neighbors, and the kids having fun. Zuri loves everything about the place she calls home. But "home" is starting to lose its meaning. She can see her neighborhood becoming gentrified. It hits close to home when Zuri sees a rich African American family move in across the block.

Zuri wants nothing to do with the Darcy family, especially their two handsome sons, Ainsley and Darius. But when her sister Janae falls in love with Ainsley, there is no avoiding them. Zuri gets off to a bad start with Darius and his rude attitude. Her life was already chaotic with college applications and crazy sisters. Now, love is making it messier. Zuri’s life is going to be changed forever ... all thanks to the Darcy family.


BTSYA / Teen Reader (17):
Pride is a unique, multicultural retelling of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I appreciate Pride’s diverse representation and in-depth dive into different cultures. Through Zuri and Darius' conversations about their different backgrounds, I learned a lot about worlds different from my own. Zuri and her sisters each  have their own unique personalities and ways of approaching life. Zuri’s beautiful poems are definitely a highlight.

Much like Pride and Prejudice, Pride explores romance and class prejudice within Zuri’s life. Ibi Zoboi doesn’t overly emphasize the romance within the story, allowing other elements of Pride to shine. Zuri’s admirable and profound story will make a great impression on all readers. It is a simple, fast read.

Pride would make an amazing gift for fans of Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice and/or diverse books


Reader Enjoyment Factors:

Readers who love urban fiction, romance, and diverse stories will love spending time with Zuri in Flatbush! The novel draws on the themes from its namesake (Pride and Prejudice) but creates a story that is unique, relevant, and fun!

Content Awareness Factors:

Readers need to be aware of sexual references, profanity, and minor violence.


Type of Book:
This is a modernized retelling of Jane Austen's classic Pride and Prejudice. The story is set in New York City and features Afro-Latino characters.
Educational Themes:

Skip the plans to contrast/compare Zoboi's book with Jane Austen's original. Instead, explore the characters - their beliefs, their sense of family and self, and (most importantly) the factors that made them reconsider some of their opinions, decisions, and choices.

Reading Level:
4.6
Recommended Age To Read By Yourself:
13 and Up
Recommended Age To Read Together:
13 and Up
Age of child:
Teen STAR Review Team, Be the Star You Are!™ . Reviewer age: 17
Purchase Recommendation:
Buy. This is a story you'll read again and want to share with others.

Title Pride
Author Ibi Zoboi
Publisher Balzer + Bray, Imprint HarperCollins Publishers © 2019 (Reprint edition)
ISBN 9780062564054
Material Paperback
Cost $10.99
Genres Family, Historical Fiction, Romance
be the star you are Cybils

More Reviews

Here are some other books we have reviewed that you may like!

BOOK REVIEW

Author
Walter Dean Myers
ISBN
9780061728235

BOOK REVIEW

Author
Jenny Han
Publisher
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, Imprint Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing © 2016
ISBN
9781442426719
be the star you are

BOOK REVIEW

Author
Jaqcueline Woodson
Publisher
Puffin Books, a Penguin Random House Company © 2016 (Reprint Edition)
ISBN
9780147515827
be the star you are Cybils

BOOK REVIEW

Author
Julie Buxbaum
Publisher
Ember, Imprint Penguin Random House Canada © 2017 (Reprint Edition)
ISBN
9780553535679
be the star you are Cybils

Similar Books

Check out these similar books on amazon

RECOMMENDED BOOK

Author Pamela Aiden
Publisher Atria Books, Imprint Simon & Schuster © 2006
ISBN 9780743291347

RECOMMENDED BOOK

Author Curtis SIttenfeld
Publisher Penguin Random House © 2016
ISBN 9780812980349